You are here: Home

Hockey North is the Hockey Canada Branch responsible for registering and governing all amateur hockey programs in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Territory. We are one of 13 member branches, that represent Hockey Canada programs in the country.

Click the picture below to watch Hockey Canada's video Helping Hockey Happen in the Canadian Arctic a piece documenting their recent trip to Kugluktuk, Nunavut.  Thank you to the Pier-Alexandre and the Hockey Canada Foundation for your continued support.


Congratulations Team North!
2016 National Aboriginal Hockey Championship
Silver Medalists

2016 Continues to be a memorable year for hockey fans across the North.  This month 18 players representing all 3 territories; from 6 communities came together as a team to participate in the 2016 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships in Mississauga, ON. The team advanced to the finals for the first time in the programs history, earning themselves a Silver Medal in the process. For more stories on the Team North please visit the links below.  

CBC North - Team North wins historic silver medal at National Aboriginal Hockey Championships

National Aboriginal Hockey Championships - Home

2016 Team North

Back row (L - R): Matthew Skinner (Equipment Manager - Inuvik, NT), Tim Gordon (Assistant Coach - Inuvik, NT), Les Skinner (Head Coach - Inuvik, NT), Neco Towtongie (Assistant Coach - Yellowknife, NT), Greg Hopf (President - Yellowknife, NT), Keaton Hopf (Water Boy - Yellowknife, NT)

Middle row (L - R): Tyler Sabourin (Rankin Inlet, NU), Kaine Comin (Whitehorse, YT), Jonas Leas (Whitehorse, YT), River Ross (Inuvik, NT), Tanner Mandeville (Hay River, NT), Jaden Sigurdson (Rankin Inlet, NU), Qartitaq Kusuqak-Clark (Rankin Inlet, NU), Drake Giroux (Yellowknife, NT), Tyler Akeegok (Iqaluit, NU), Stephane Nukapiak (Rankin Inlet, NU), Liam Wong (Yellowknife, NT)

Front Row (L -R): Seth Ningeongan (Rankin Inlet, NU), Johnny Elias (Whitehorse, YT), Kaiden McDonald (Inuvik, NT), Austin Caza (Iqaluit, NU), Alex Skinner (Inuvik, NT), Ben McClelland (Whitehorse, NT), Josh Tetlichi (Whitehorse, YT)

2016 Arctic Winter Games - Team NWT
Congratulations to all of the athletes, coaches and officials that participated at the 2016 Arctic Winter Games in Iqaluit, NU last week.  You all were tremendous ambassadors for the sport of hockey.   Additional Congratulations to the two teams from the Northwest Territories for their gold Ulu in the Junior Female category and Silver Ulu in the Bantam Male.  

Meet the teams: 

Junior Female: 
Team NWT - Gold

#1 - Ayesha Barlas, #10 - Abby Webster, #12 - Cassidy Ring, #15 - Bryn Hill, #16 - Kiah Vail
#18 - Anna MacCara, #19 - Chantal Letemplier, #22 - Shannon Baetz, #27 Annie King, 
#28 Sarah Fleming, #30 Emily Paddock, #4 Darcie Setzer, #5 Lauren Eggenberger,
#6 Susie Chambers, #7 Davina McLeod, #77 Shakita Jensen, #87 Dakota Earle

Bench Staff: Head Coach - John Hill, Assistant - Kaylee Grant
Manager: Dave Earle

Team Nunavut

Back Row (L to R): #9 - Tapisa Tattuinee, #3 - Madison Ahle, #4 - Joy Angnetsiak, 
#5 - Amber Graham, #8 Teresa Qiatsuq, #7 - Monica Qattalik, #11 - Pauline Comeau, 

Middle Row: #6 Dodie Netser, #10 Ocean Machmer, #13 Maranda (Tiki) Kootoo,
#2 - Nicole Ymana, #15 - Kadin Copland, #16 - Addy Lindell, #12 - Tia Adams,

Goalies: #1 - Tash Sheaves, #30 - Riley Lachance, 

Bench Staff: Head Coach - Steve Patterson, Assistant - Shauna Beaton
Equipment - Ms. Zurheide

Bantam Male:
Team NWT - Silver

#10 - Cody Earl, #13 - Trey Beck, #14 - Matt Hayward, #15 - Zack Horton,
#16 - Kieran Kobaissi, #17 - Keelin Kobaissi, #19 Thomas Matesic, #2 - Justin Powder, 
#24 - Nathan Cluff, #27 - Ethan Anstey, #3 - Lonan Bulger, #30 - Paul-Michael St.-Cyr,
#31 - Liam Teroposky, #4 - Ben Carson, #6 - Logan Debogorski, #7 - Connor Flemming,
#8 - Austin Daniels

Bench Staff: Head Coach - Brad Anstey, Assistant - Rob Schaub

Team Nunavut

#13 Kevin Voisey, #17 - Kennedy Napayok, #19 Quintien Issaluk, #22Camile Lavallee, 
#23 Donovan Kopak, #3 - Lonnie Kolit-Carter, #31 - Felix Dubeau, #4 - Brad Sigurdson, 
#41 - Joshua Nattar, #5 - Chris Kringayark Jr., #6 - Max Joy, #66 - Josie Cote,
#7 - Brandon Tatty, #8 - Scott Sigurdson, #87 Stanley Adjuk Jr., #9 Gregory Atagoyuk,
#92 - Leo Kaludjak

Bench Staff: Head Coach - Ryan O'Connor, Assistant - Conor Fudge

Hockey North Zones


Play Hockey

Learn how you can benefit from playing hockey and becoming a member. Click here for more information.



     Click above to see the new
    "Hockey Page" added to
    Active for Life....Get moving!


Hockey Canada releases

Subscription Information

10000's of drills; drill videos; practice plans; articles
Skills of Gold 8 DVD set included
Hockey Canada Skills Binders - all levels
Up to date information on Nutrition & Development

    Coaches/ Officials/Respect in Sport/ Safety Person Training

    Go to the Coaches Development tab to get started in coaching.

    To see what courses are currently running, click on Hockey University

    To complete the Online Officiating Course, go to Officials/Clinics Training

    To register for Respect in Sport (RIS), Respect in Sport for PARENTS or the Hockey Canada Safety Person courses, click on Safety Program Certification


    MAKING HEADWAY - Coaching Association of Canada
    Concussion courses online.
    Click here to Make Headway!!










    Introducing the new Drill Site for Coaches....
    New Drills added all the time!!

    Click on logo to access


    Click on Concussion Link below to go to
    Hockey Canada's Concussion Page for more
    information on Concussions.

    Register  | Admin Login




    © 2015 Hockey North. All rights reserved. Powered by CanSport LIVE.


    WordPress Tutorials
    DNN Support